h1

no good intentions

May 17, 2010

to follow up on my previous post, I bring to you a short playlist of DBT songs about small towns. I have listened to these songs many times, and I think about them a lot, but I’m not going to provide any commentary here. I struggled with some, but it’s pretty much stuff I’ve said in other ways in other places, so I’ll just say that I identify with them all in some way, that I feel they capture that sense of confinement and comfort that small towns bring in equal measure, and leave it at that.

“72 (This Highway’s Mean)”

Don’t know why they even bother putting this highway on the map
Everybody that’s ever been on it knows exactly where they’re at
Hells on both ends of it
And no where’s in between

“Zip City”

Maybe it’s the twenty-six mile drive from Zip City to Colbert Heights
Keeps my mind clean
Gets me through the night
Maybe you’re just a destination, a place for me to go
A way to keep from having to deal with my seventeen-year-old mind all alone
Keep your drawers on, girl, it ain’t worth the fight
By the time you drop them I’ll be gone
And you’ll be right where they fall the rest of your life

Zip City it’s a good thing that they built a wall around you
Zip up to Tennessee then zip back down to Alabama
I got 350 heads on a 305 engine
I get ten miles to the gallon
I ain’t got no good intentions

“Marry Me”

All my friends are restless, all they do is talk it down,
two or eight lanes, it don’t matter, it’s just another town.
There’s a fool on every corner, on every street, in every one
and I’d rather be your fool nowhere than go somewhere and be no one’s

Leave a Reply

