h1

whimsey

November 7, 2009

so in the midst of my usual pity party, some awesome things have happened:

a whimsical friend conviced me to blow off work yesterday to go to the track, and it was grand, rainy and full of old men in hats and pretty horses with ridiculous names (including “i am thor”).

and then today that same friend sent me a link to a fabulous song, and in trying to figure out what album it was on, i discovered that it is, in fact, a duet between cracker’s lead singer and patterson hood of dbt. y’all know that warms the cockles of my cold heart. have a listen:

(from the newest cracker cd, sunrise in the land of milk and honey)

(David Lowery)
Well I’d never sleep with your ex-girlfriend
Even if she starts to flirt with me again.
Allow me apologize for my slightly wicked thoughts;
‘Cause that’s the kind of friend that you’ve got.
(Patterson Hood)
If a fight breaks out and you’re the cause of it
In some redneck bar where you’ve been talking shit.
I would not forsake you later in that parking lot
’cause that’s the kind of friend that you’ve got.
(Lowery and Hood)
Well through the laughter and the tears,
we go stumbling through the years.
(Lowery)
A bit dysfunctional well folks might say
(Hood)
Well I’ve got the dirt on you.
(Lowery)
Hey, I’ve got plenty on you too.
(Lowery and Hood)
So I pray we stay together all our days.

(Lowery)
So when you’re on a date
and you finally bring that girl home.
You put a little Captain Beefheart on the stereo
and you disconnect the phone.
(Hood)
Then I show up drunk and raving,
and then I pass out on the spot.
‘Cause that’s the kind of friend
That you’ve got.
(Lowery)
Well through the laughter and the tears,
(Lowery and Hood)
we go stumbling through the years.
(Lowery)
A bit dysfunctional well folks might say
(Hood)
You can say that again.
(Lowery and Hood)
Well I’ve got the dirt on you.
(Lowery)
Hey, I’ve got plenty on you too;
(Lowery and Hood)
So I pray we stay together all our days.
(Lowery)
Oh dear lord
(Lowery and Hood)
Yeah I pray we stay together all our days.

it’s like a seedy, dive bar-y version of the golden girls theme song, and since i aim to be a somewhat disreputable golden girl myself, i heartily approve.

so here’s to friends (i am literally lifting my beer here). whatever else i might endlessly bitch about, i’m blessed in my friends.

2 comments

  1. I am still kicking myself for not betting on I am Thor to win. My instincts were way off yesterday, except, obviously, in the invitation.

    Thanks for the nod.


  2. […] it as an adult, the more i’ve appreciated it as something more than that. hell, i’ve said before that i fully intend to end up some sort of disreputable golden girl, living in a house with my […]



Leave a Reply

